I am back!

In spring of 2013, my husband and I began the long task of designing and building a house.  We moved in about 6 months ago, while still in the process of finishing the house ourselves!   Finally it is mostly done and we are settling in quite nicely.

Lucy at Attic 24 is a crocheter and lives in England. I could get (and have gotten) lost in her blog for hours.  She takes such beautiful photos of the English countryside and her little town.  The colors she chooses for her projects are mouthwatering… most of them are taken from flowers and other things in nature.  The way she combines colors makes me ridiculously happy!

She has kits available from a company called Wool Warehouse in England. I had drooled over these kits for ages but had not had the time to start any large projects.  Finally the house was done and I decided to reward myself with an afghan kit – I decided on the Coast Ripple blanket kit.  Making this purchase from the UK was very easy. The exchange rate was good for me, a £25 kit only cost me about $38 which included 15 balls of yarn at 100 g each, plus shipping via air mail. It arrived in about 10 days, and came in this sweet little bag!

image

It came with directions for the blanket too. I just love how these colors glow!   I am having fun making it.  I had to make some notes as the UK crochet terms are a little different than here in the US, but I love how this looks!  This project is made with DK weight yarn and I am using a 4.0 mm hook (G hook in the US).

image

This has been such a delightful project to start and it’s very easy and intuitive… even though I do more knitting than crochet, I am really enjoying this!

1 Comment

  1. lindamartha

    Welcome back to the world of knitting. You deserved this kit no matter how much it cost after all the work you have done on building the house! Its coming out beautiful-nice colors. I also like Lucy’s work but the last time I looked at the kits the colors were relatively subdued so I didn’t buy anything. I will have another look to see if I there are more available now. I am actually sewing mostly but knitting a little myself-my blog is on wordpress too. Come visit!

Leave a Reply

