Gifted Socks

My stepmom asked me earlier this fall if I would knit her some socks.  I told her I would, but she wanted to pick out the yarn.  A couple of weeks later, I got a box of yarn in the mail – three different kinds!  She told me to chose the yarn for her socks, and keep the rest.  I chose  Zitron Trekking Maxima in colorway 906, which was a twist of blues, gray, yellow, red and purple.  It has nice long color changes.  The pattern I used was a free pattern called Globe Trotter Socks which can be also downloaded as a PDF from Ravelry.

Image

This was a great pattern for this yarn.  She asked for plain socks but I didn’t want to knit the whole thing in stockinette.  This is a seed stitch rib which was just enough to keep things interesting.

Image

There is truly nothing warmer than a pair of hand-knit wool socks for cold feet in the winter!

Leave a Reply

