Felted Hot Pad and Coaster

I have had a single ball of Paton’s Soy Wool Stripes in “Natural Slate” in my stash for a while now. I was not sure what to do with it – although I loved its silvery color and single ply, I had no plans for it. I have wanted to try making some felted hot pads because wool is antimicrobial and self-extinguishing – it would be perfect for use in the kitchen.

Here is how I made it!

Using a size 10 1/2 needle, cast on 40 stitches. Knit two rows of garter stitch as a foundation. Then, repeat the following rows until you have made a square:
Row 1: Knit the entire row.
Row 2: Knit the first 3 stitches, then purl until the last 3 stitches, then knit the last 3 stitches.

You will have a stockinette square edged in garter stitch. Measure the width of your piece (mine was 12 inches) and continue the work until your length matches your width. Then work 4 more rows in garter stitch and bind off.  Weave in the ends and felt.

I like to do my felting in the washing machine although some might prefer using other methods. I put mine in the machine on hot, with the lowest water depth, and the longest cycle. Add a little detergent and something heavy like a pair of jeans. Then just let the washer go until it has felted to its desired doneness! I don’t have a problem letting the washer finish its cycle – although some pull out the item before hand. I haven’t had a problem with an item that went through the whole cycle. You will need to shape your hot pad a bit when you take it out so that it is flat and even. And it will probably need a shave – I’ve used just a plain electric hair clipper to do this because it will be quite fuzzy.

Let it dry and enjoy your new kitchen tool!

For the coaster, cast on 20 stitches, and work a few rows of stockinette stitch.  Measure the width, and continue working in stockinette stitch until you have a square.  Bind off, weave in the ends and felt.

3 Comments

  1. kari keller

    Thank you for your well spelled out patter on felted hot pads coasters. I can’t wait to try them!

    • You are very welcome and I hope you enjoy making them!

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « FinnGarian Knits

Leave a Reply

